A floral look for Longwood Gardens

Spring and summer call for spending as much time as possible outside, and one of my favorite places to visit is Longwood Gardens. I’ve been visiting the gardens since I was little, and I have great memories of wandering through the conservatory and the Du Pont House. My friend and I were bored one day and decided to go walk through the gardens. We live relatively close to it, so it was nice to spend the day seeing my friend from school and exploring the gardens.

For my outfit, I wanted to complement the surroundings and wear this floral kimono that I bought from a little boutique in my town. I saw its bright colors in the store and couldn’t resist buying it! I knew I wanted to be comfy throughout the day, so I went with my favorite high waisted jean shorts and a pink tank. The kimono is very flowy, so I wanted the rest of my outfit to be rather form-fitting. Like I’ve said before, I have a pretty straight body type, so I like to make sure that my outfit is balanced. I think that’s important when forming your outfit, balancing your pieces together. Here’s some tips on how to make a balanced look:

  1. If you’re wearing a billowy top, pair it with form-fitting bottoms.
  2. If you’re wearing a flowy bottom, pair it with a tighter shirt.
  3. If you’re wearing a looser jacket or sweater, wear a fitted top so you don’t drown in the material.

Of course, these are guidelines and you don’t have to follow them, but I just thought I’d share how I pair things together.

As for my accessories, I picked a few of my favorite necklaces and layered them together. I love layering necklaces together, especially chokers. I really hope the choker trend stays (even if it doesn’t, I’ll still wear them)! I wore my very comfortable black strapped sandals, they go with everything.

I didn’t want to carry a purse all day because I knew I’d get irritated with it, so I brought my black leather backpack. It’s so adorable and useful! I use it for school, but it’s too cute not to use it for any other aspect of my life. Backpacks have become very fashionable recently, and it’s very difficult for me not to buy more of them, tbh. I was able to carry water, my camera, and even some snacks (because I definitely worked up an appetite!).

All in all, it was a great day, I really want to go back as often as I can!DSCN0102DSCN0080DSCN0076DSCN0072DSCN0068DSCN0055DSCN0038 (2)DSCN0012DSCN0030DSCN0025

Leave a comment